Setting an access restriction for an activity or a resource of the virtual classroom means that only students who meet this restriction (or sets of restrictions) will be able to view and access it.
In the virtual classroom, you can configure the visibility and access to an activity or resource based on different criteria. You can restrict access by:
- Activity completion – If the classroom has any activity or resource configured with completion criteria, it requires the student to complete (or not complete) a previous activity/resource.
- Date – Prevents access until or after a specified date and time.
- Grade – Requires student to achieve a minimum specified grade.
- Group – Allows access only to students belonging to a specified group, or to all groups.
- Grouping Allows access only to students who belong to one of the groups of a specified grouping.
- User Profile – Controls access based on student profile fields.
You can also configure a Restriction Set.
- Edit the settings of the activity or resource,
- either from the classroom (How to quickly edit from the classroom the activity or resource settings),
- either clicking on the activity or resource and then clicking on the Settings tab.
- Go to the Restrict access section and click the Add restriction… button to see the options.

- Choose the type of restriction that suits you best.

NOTE: You can select more than one.
- click the Save and return to course button to apply the restriction(s).